Old scholars


Latest News

Blame it on the boogie!

A mirror ball, coloured lights and haze machine provided a disco atmosphere at the Disco Bingo event last Saturday night.  Guests dressed in the theme with sparkling outfits, afros and a few safari suits!  Congratulations to the Herbert table for the Best Disco outfits and to staff members, Kylie Butler, Annalie “Dancing Queen” Morgan and Suzette Black for their outstanding disco dress.  The bingo games created competitive fun and the Disco Dip had a prize for every player.  Thanks to the old scholars’ committee for organising such a successful and entertaining event.



St Andrew’s congratulates all Old Scholars on their outstanding Year 12 results, and wish them well as they continue to pursue their goals beyond high school.

Special congratulations to Brandon Bartholomeusz, Courtney Marks, Alexander Martin, Niki Panayiaris, Khiem Pham and Claudia Santin who all achieved merit awards across a range of subject areas.


The St Andrew’s Old Scholars’ Association was formed over one hundred years ago when the first reunion was held in the Walkerville Hall on 28 September 1913.

The old scholars were very active in school life and in 1915 they undertook the construction of the Pavilion which was situated along the cemetery wall.   Many of them performed the manual work and over twenty-two pounds was raised by an Old Scholars’ Festival that contributed towards the overall costs.  The Pavilion was used as shelter for the students as well as a venue for functions such as the St Andrew’s Day fetes.

Special functions were also held by the Association to farewell their fellow old scholars who enlisted for service in WWI and each was presented with a wallet to acknowledge their connection.  One hundred years later, our First World War veterans are remembered in a Roll of Honour which forms part of the Walkway of Heroes at the School.  A grant from the ANZAC Day Commemoration Fund contributed towards the memorial which was formally opened at an ANZAC Day service in April 2015.

As with many groups of this longevity, the Association has had times of strength and times of lesser support. The present committee is keen to maintain connections between the old scholar community and the School by organising an annual program of events.  Each year decade reunions are held for those who left the School one, ten, twenty and thirty years ago.  The reunions are also keenly attended by the Principal, staff and teachers from that time.

In 2014 the Association reintroduced the Old Scholars’ Badge, incorporating the original 1913 design, which is presented each financial member of the Old Scholars’ Association.  All graduating Year 7 students are presented with their badge and certificate at their first reunion which is held at the School.

The Old Scholars’ Association has always offered to help the School by raising funds for equipment needed by the students and organising functions for past students to help cement strong and loyal ties to their school.

Old Scholars’ Committee

The Association is run by a committee elected each year at the Annual General Meeting.  The committee comprises old scholars from different school years and decades and many are also parents at St Andrew’s.

An annual program of events is offered to all old scholars and some fundraising contributes towards school projects.  In 2014 the old scholars contributed towards the new landscaping of the Walkway of Heroes by donating an especially designed garden bench for old scholars and students to enjoy when taking a break from play.  The cheque was presented at the Long Lunch by the President of the Association, George Demourtzidis, to Kristian Downing, the Foundation Chairman.

In 2015, another donation was made to the School Hall Appeal, following the success of the
Old Scholars’ Bogan Bingo event. Proceeds from the 2016 Quiz Night were generously donated to Stage 1 of the School’s new Master Plan.

Old Scholars’ Committee L-R: Cindy Pitkin (nee Taylor, 1986), Tim Wellburn (1978), Sarah Parsons (nee Buxton, 1978), Karen Rogers (nee Clarke, 1978), George Demourtzidis (President, 1995), Michael Herbert (1994)

Calendar of Events and Reunions 2017

Class of 2016 Year 7 Reunion

Wednesday 12 April 2017
Dove Hall

Class of 2007 10 Year Reunion

Friday 1 September 2017
6.00pm School Hall

Old Scholars’ Association Annual General Meeting

Monday 26 June 2017
Upper Primary Meeting Room

Old Scholars’ Disco Bingo

Saturday 17 June 2017
7.00pm St Andrew’s School Hall

Twenty Year Reunion

For Year 7 students from 1997
Saturday 2 September
5.30pm St Andrew’s School Hall

Forty Year Reunion

For Year 7 students from 1977
Friday 17 November
5.30pm St Andrew’s School


Old Scholars’ Annual Dinner


Fifty Year Reunion (Year 7 1967)

Date TBA

Year 4 in 1963

Year 4 in 1963

For further information regarding old scholar events and reunions please contact Karin Dunsford, Director of Development: kdunsford@standrews.sa.edu.au

  • St Andrew’s School is a South Australian independent, co-educational specialist primary school providing excellence in education from playgroup through to early years and on to Year 7. Principal Deb Dalwood – an International Baccalaureate School – UNESCO Associated School.